Skip to content
28/06/2012 / katnewman

Flame-off 8.4.11

Wow!

Well I’ve just attended my first Flame-off, ran by Tuffnells Glass, suppliers of the glass rods and kit for making the beads. It was amazing, everyone was so friendly, and I got to meet some people with whom I have become good friends through the jewellery world.

There was a ‘play tent’ where you could sit and make beads and try out all the different torches. Demonstrations throughout the day by leading lampwork artists (including the lovely Lush Julie) I missed the last one which was a shame but I think next year once I’ve got some techniques under my belt they will mean much more to me.

So – I came away with a beast of a bead making kit, the Oxycon generator machine plus a cricket torch and loads of tools and glass. I could have started on a hot head but I tried it and it was so slow I wanted to launch it across the room!

A new, sturdy table has been put up in the kat shack ready for this, so I’m all ready to go except for the gas which I’ll get on Sunday – then I can have a play.

So excited!

Leave a Reply

