Skip to content
28/06/2012 / katnewman

Welcome to my new blog

I’ve been using the blogging system on my website www.beadsbykat.co.uk up till now, but I have come to the decision that something less attached to an internet provider would be a better way to go so from now I’m going to be posting here.

I will be bringing the old stuff over in case I ever need to change provider and it would be a shame to lose some of it!

But for now, I’ll tell you about myself for those that don’t know me! I’ve been a silversmith since 2005, and started working full-time as a jewellery maker/designer since early 2010 although I’ve been making jewellery for as long as I can remember – since I was able to operate pliers I guess! I found Lampworking last year, and after much drooling and clicking on that ‘buy’ button, amassing a decent stash of gorgeous beads, I decided to give it a go. Lesson with Julie of Lush Lampwork, major spending spree at Flame-off and I was set to go! So I’ve only really been lampworking a year or so but I feel like I’ve ‘come home’ in terms of my creative direction.

This Jaunary I bit the bullet and attempted something I thought would be insanely difficult – the Goddess Bead – and was pleasantly surprised to have found an affinitiy and love for the sculptural side of the craft. My goddessess have been incredibly popular and I feel very blessed to be able to continue this craft doing things that I love and bringing things that other people love into being! More about Goddesses etc in another post.

So – that’s me, old blog posts to follow then we’ll crack on with what’s next!

Leave a Reply

