Skip to content
30/09/2012 / katnewman

Bracelets for Jaxon – Fundraising for Kindness

It’s all about kindness, it’s very addictive once you start the random acts of kindness and this has to be one of the most touching stories I’ve heard in a long time So when my friend Toni rouses me from sleep with an exciting idea and news of this lovely little feller, it didn’t take much for me to well and truly hop on board!!

There’s this little boy called Jaxon, who in January 2011 was diagnosed with complex partial seizures caused by a brain tumor. He and his family have faced some of the hardest experiences a family should ever have to face, he is terminally ill and currently home on permanent hospice care. But what makes this little feller happy, is to show kindness wherever he can! Instead of concentrating on being ill and all that entails, he and his family are tirelessly performing random acts of kindness, buying things for other children on the cancer journey, passing on the love!

You can read all about Jaxon here http://www.caringbridge.org/visit/jaxond/mystory and join his facebook page here http://www.facebook.com/TeamJaxonFrog The FROG stands for Fully Rely on God.

I’m a lampworker and jewellery designer. Lampwork is basically the melting of glass into beads etc and several months ago I designed an ‘affirmation bracelet’ that combines one of my lampworked beads – be it a goddess, heart, button etc – macrame’d cotton band, and a ring inscribed with an affirmation. One of the affirmations I have is ‘Kindness’, something close to mine and Toni’s heart!

So – the brilliant idea is coming now…! An affirmation bracelet with a heart in FROG yellow, or with a frog button for the youngsters, with the Kindness affirmation ring. For every one that I sell of these, I will donate £1 to Jaxon’s FROG account so that he can continue spreading kindness wherever he can. I will continually update the shop with more, so if you can’t see any in stock be sure to come back in a day or so!

The bracelets are available in my Etsy shop here http://www.etsy.com/shop/BeadsbyKat?section_id=12281080 and you can keep up with me, the fundraising and more products on my facebook page, here https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10151044641822131.412217.728077130&type=1#!/katnewmanjewellery

So, to kick off this exciting new kindness initiative, I’m paying it forward with a giveaway of one bracelet. This bracelet featured here – will be winging its way to one lucky person next week.

And here, just to wet your appetite are the ones with the little frog faces – meant for children – but that can be grown up children too of course! 😉

 You have to appreciate that as these are handmade, they are not going to be identical – they will all have their own little faces and identities!

To be in with a chance of winning this, please make a comment at the bottom of this blog entry, and come back at 5pmTuesday 9th October (UK time) to check if you’ve won and send me your address! (Please don’t put your address in your comment here, we will do that privately)

I will use a random number generator to chose the winner, at 4.30pm Tuesday 9th October (2012)

In any case, whether you win or not, be kind to someone today even if it’s just a smile at a stranger!

30 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Georgie Bristow (@FlamingBeads) / Oct 1 2012 6:19 pm

    I love frogs and hearts….what a wonderful cause…spread the love..;)x

  2. Sheri Gornitz / Oct 2 2012 1:30 am

    God Bless You

  3. Cindi / Oct 2 2012 1:43 am

    I have been drawn to Jaxon’s story for a while now through a friend of a friend and love frogs too. I even have tattoos of them funny little critters! Spread the love and support this wondefully uplifting boy!! Jaxon has quickly become my hero

  4. Michelle Kwasney / Oct 2 2012 1:59 am

    For such an amazing little boy!

  5. KBar3 / Oct 2 2012 2:05 am

    What a wonderful, beautiful way to draw attention to Team Jaxon and all that him and his family are doing while the are they are in the middle of everything they are going through. Two of my favorite things frogs and glass put together to promote one of my other favorite things…kindness. FROG has taken on a whole new meaning. Go Team Jaxon!

  6. Ashley bucks / Oct 2 2012 2:09 am

    Those are really cute! Thanks for supporting our sweet little friend, Jaxon!!

  7. Elaine Hinkle / Oct 2 2012 2:13 am

    The are beautiful and unique….just like precious Jaxon ❤ win it or buy it, I'm gonna get one of these bracelets!

  8. Laura / Oct 2 2012 2:20 am

    I was trying to order one of the first ones but it’s not on your etsy site. Is there a different link?

    • katnewman / Oct 2 2012 6:44 am

      Hi, Yes sorry I’ve listed more – didn’t account for the fact that you guys would be up ordering whilst I was in bed! I’m listing them in batches so that I don’t get too overwhelmed with orders but there’s another 10 available now

  9. Tisha Mendiola / Oct 2 2012 2:35 am

    What an amazing little boy with a big heart.

  10. jennifer wyatt / Oct 2 2012 2:36 am

    Awesome Idea 🙂 Beautiful Bracelet 🙂 Praying daily for Jaxon and family….

  11. Amy Ellis / Oct 2 2012 2:57 am

    You don’t even know yet how this thoughtful, amazing contribution will keep Jaxon’s heart alive. There are now an amazing number of people in San Antonio & all of TX that are so touched by your kindness. The Davis family has taught us all to be better parents & treasure our children even more. Thank you! Thank you!! Thank you!! Team Jaxon rules!!! Amy E.

  12. Leslie / Oct 2 2012 2:58 am

    So awesome! Jaxon is a special little boy!

  13. Amy Ellis / Oct 2 2012 3:04 am

    This is an amazing idea and I love the frog bead. Your kindness will help keep Jaxon’s heart alive in this world. The Davis family has taught us all to be better parents and treasure our kids even more. You have made a lot of people in San Antonio and Texas [& other parts] very happy. Thank you!! Thank you!! Thank you!! Team Jaxon rules!!
    Amy E.

  14. sarah / Oct 2 2012 3:28 am

    Than you for doing this for jaxon Noooo I have to figure out which one I like more :)I so so kind of you

  15. Jonnie / Oct 2 2012 3:30 am

    This is so beautiful….. thank you for doing what your doing!

  16. Araceli Mendoza / Oct 2 2012 4:56 am

    This is so amazing. I love how everyone is coming together to help this wonderful cause.

  17. Hope / Oct 2 2012 5:00 am

    I want it! Such a sweet boy to honor!

  18. Dawn Davis / Oct 2 2012 5:48 am

    What a wonderful and kind thing you are doing here. My daughter was diagnosed w leukemia and by some miracle she survived. I know what this family is going thru and my heart breaks for them. I cannot stop thinking of Jaxon. Such an inspiration to us all!

  19. Michelle / Oct 2 2012 5:57 am

    Love your work and your idea! We love Team Jaxon; thank you for doing this!

  20. Laney Mead (@LaneysIzzybeads) / Oct 2 2012 8:28 am

    What a beautiful and inspired blog. x

  21. sunshinegivingToni / Oct 2 2012 9:23 am

    Kat… thank you. As my best friend, you already know my heart and know how much gratitude and love there is behind that “thank you”. I am so thankful to you for supporting Team Jaxon in such a beautiful way and for the love I know that you put into each and every one of these bracelets. Love always xxx

    • katnewman / Oct 2 2012 9:27 am

      I love you too, and thank you for introducing me to Jaxon! You are the kindest most selfless person I know and I am glad to be able to do this small thing. Xxxx

  22. Sharon Claypool / Oct 2 2012 5:09 pm

    Beautiful bracelets for a great cause.

  23. Katherine Walters / Oct 2 2012 6:51 pm

    Great idea for a great cause. We will check them out on etsy.

  24. Shannon Squires / Oct 2 2012 7:16 pm

    I don’t know you personally but I can see you are a wonderful and caring person for doing this for such a special little boy like Jaxon. Miracles do happen….believe and pray!! Your bracelets are beautiful…

  25. Sarah Knaap / Oct 2 2012 8:44 pm

    luverly!

  26. Jodi Traut / Oct 3 2012 2:40 am

    This is so kind of you to do for a great boy. I love the frog and the heart bracelets they are awesome.

  27. Marilo / Oct 5 2012 11:49 pm

    This little boy is really special, and the bracelets to help are a great idea 🙂

Leave a Reply

