Skip to content
29/05/2013 / katnewman

When the mojo is gone

It happens to all of us, and to me fairly regularly in this weather! Its like the cold addles my brain! I’ve absolutely loved making floral beads and have made so many recently but I just love all the variation I can get out of the floral canes I’ve been making. Such fun! ;0)

image

But, this week even the floral mojo was gone as suddenly as the fabulous bank holiday sunshine!

So – what to do?

Pick a technique that you want to improve, or that you enjoy. For me, its both those things when it comes to dots. They are quite meditative, and they can be used to create a multitude of effects. I recently borrowed Corrina Tettinger’s book which is really for beginner lampworkers but its also a great reference for techniques to go back to – there’s so much to learn, its like being in a sweet shop, you try most things but until you go back you don’t always remember what you’ve tried and wanted to take further.

So, with a technique in mind, I as so decided to stick to one colour. Bit of a cop out this time round, because I seem to have more greens than any other colour – and I did t even use all of them! But I will try this again with a different colour scheme soon.

So here’s the results of my mojo-challenged session at the torch! All these designs (apart from the plain ones of course!) start with dots, that are then manipulated in some way to make what you see.

image

image

Thanks for reading 🙂

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. synergyglassart / Jun 29 2013 9:09 am

    I just posted a new article about finding inspiration when my creative mojo has disappeared also. It was great to read your point of view. What a great challenge! I didn’t even consider doing this. Thanks for the advice!

    • katnewman / Jun 29 2013 9:23 am

      Aw thank you! I find repetition brings out some mojo either through the meditiveness or sheer boredom lol! Will come and read yours 🙂

Leave a Reply

