Skip to content
08/10/2013 / katnewman

It’s Tuesday on Blogtoberfest – Sloe Gin time

And yeah, I failed again lol! Did you have a good weekend?!

Yesterday I took an hour off from lampworking to traipse the local fields in search of sloe berries. I’ve got a large gathering this year for Christmas and I want to be able to provide all the treats and trimmings. Well, to my surprise the trees were absolutely laden with fruit! Within 45 mins I had amassed 3 kilos and the trees didn’t look like they had even been touched! They were huge and juicy and so very ripe. I think the waiting till the first frost thing is an old wives tale made up by the older generation so that they can get to them first, the wiley devils! You can get a perfectly good frost on from popping them in the freezer overnight, and that helps break down the skins a bit.

image

A kilo of my stash is for my parents who want to make their own (I’m so good to them ha ha) and 2 kilos for me. I find Sloe gin is best after 12 months of sitting, so I like to be able to make a fair amount so I can put some away for next year, I still have a bottle from last year and it definitely has matured nicely!!

As far as recipes go, I pretty much follow the guys at the Cottage Smallholder site and I usually do half with the almond essence and half without. Strain after 3 months and tuck away in a cupboard for next year if you can stand to wait that long!

I was discussing with a friend yesterday how I strain my gin. I am really fussy about ‘bits’ and find that muslin doesn’t quite do it for me – so I use a coffee filter. It takes a while for the liquid to get through but it works for me – obviously it sits in a funnel over the bottle.

Bottles are much easier to get your hands on these days, Ikea sell the kilner top bottles as do wilkinsons – the only place I can find that actually still do home brewing gear locally. Not sure what I’ve done with my kilner jars for the brewing though, I had a year off homebrew last year so I guess they’re at the back of the garage somewhere!!

If you do fancy giving this a try, good luck!

https://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/BeadsbyKat

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Nicola / Oct 8 2013 10:19 am

    Would love to brew more things at home. The hubby has some cider on the go brewing away. I’d like to get into wine – but since I don’t really drink – I don’t know if I should! It’ll only encourage me to drink more!

    • katnewman / Oct 9 2013 8:04 am

      I have bottles and bottles of homemade wine here undrunk, we don’t drink much either! Rhubarb wine and a dry white grape 🙂

  2. Sue Reynolds / Oct 8 2013 11:49 am

    I used to love gin in my drinking days – I bet yours is wonderful:)

    • katnewman / Oct 9 2013 8:05 am

      I have some 3 year old stuff left, its rather yum!

Leave a Reply

