Skip to content
16/04/2014 / katnewman

Tuffy Bead Release, part 2

Hi there,
You remember last week I posted my findings on this new bead release, well as promised there’s more to say having given it more testing, and I’ve also included some findings from fellow lampworkers for a more rounded view.

It’s always been my belief that different bead releases work for different people because of the way they work, the heat they use, the glass they use etc so it’s important to understand that what works for one person may not necessarily be the one for you. I am yet to find a perfect bead release! But the non-toxic element of this Tuffy release still has it shoulders above my usual bead release (Fusion) despite it not being as tough.

Since writing last, I’ve come to realise that it’s not as tough, there are many more mandrels in the water pot because of broken bead release. I haven’t used presses much but the last time I did, I used a press made by a company whose presses are notorious for sticking, and yep, got the bead stuck. It was stuck goooooood! So much so, that I actually managed to pull the mandrel out of the bead.

This ease of pulling off the bead, however, is another plus for me, my hands aren’t as young or as strong as they once were and my hubby starts work early so I can’t persuade him to do the job except for on weekends!

Findings from my friend Sue, of FlamingEck beads – she uses 2 oxys where I use only 1, and works on a Mega Minor where I have a cricket.

‘it is dreadful with Bullseye, I have wasted around five pounds worth of glass where the release frayed into the bead, both around the bead hole and at the centre of the bead, which I haven’t seen before. And that was while melting an encasing layer in, not using presses or rollers. With presses and rollers I’ve found it disintegrates at the ends of the bead, often into the glass, and even on small beads it fails. Boro is an absolute failure’

So there you go folks, Boro and bullseye are a no go.

Georgie of Flaming Beads also reported the fraying that Sue had.

I would venture, that this bead release is probably best used for spacers, small beads and presses that don’t bash the mandrel too much. I won’t be abandoning my Fusion bead release anytime soon, but this stuff definitely still has a place in my studio.

Leave a Reply

