Skip to content
09/10/2014 / katnewman

Throwback thursday

I thought we’d go riiiiiiight back to the day it all started, when I had my first lampwork lesson. I  wasn’t sure if lampworking was for me, and decided to take a lesson first before shelling out 100’s of ££ on the kit. Turns out I needn’t have worried, as I was silversmithing at the time, I had already an understanding of heat control and I did pretty ok!

The days lesson was well worth it though, I went all the way up to beautiful Malvern to Julie of Lush Lampwork and had a fabulous day. We crammed in loads of techniques and I had quite a beady stash by the end of the day! Julie kiln anneals your beads for you and posts them on. I was so excited at the time I displayed them all very proudly. Here are my first beads…

image

Needless to say my own kit was purchased very soon after, and the journey began.

I haven’t really gone back to silver since the glass took over, except to mount the odd cabochon. Now I have quite a large collection of glass rods there’s actually no room for a silver bench!

I’ve made some lifelong friends along the way too, lampworkers can be a friendly, nutty bunch of folk!

 
To join in on Blogtoberfest and to view the other folk taking part follow the link below
Powered by Linky Tools
Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

Leave a Reply

