Skip to content
10/10/2014 / katnewman

Friends on Friday – Vic Tierney of Cornish Dragon

Vic is a kindred spirit, we have many similar influences and inspirations and I never tire of seeing all the amazing things she comes up with!

Based in Cornwall, obviously, she creates so many covetable things, from lampwork beads, to beautiful art dolls, to cute and quirky but fabulously detailed little elves.

image

She is also taking part in Blogtoberfest so check out her blog, here: http://cornishdragon.blogspot.co.uk/

So, I posed the same set of questions to Vic, and this is her interview – enjoy.

What drives your creativity? As in what is it that makes designs come out of you and into being?

–         I just have this urge to create and make.

What’s the last song that got stuck in your head?

–         Happy

Do you come from a creative family?

–         My mum knits sews and bakes,  Dad is good at woodwork.

Name up to 5 artistic influences in your life.

–         Hmm not sure if these count but Cornwall, fantasy and sci fi books, nature, folklore / fairy tales and Fairies. By fairies I don’t mean the all goody type I mean the proper fairies that you’re not quite sure if they are good or bad.   

image

What colour are your bedroom walls, and why?

–         Horrid wallpaper we put up when we built the extension, I want to repaint soon. I’d like a nice lavender colour with a feature wall.

Who are your favourite artists?

–         Brian Froud I’ve loved his work for a long time and Labyrinth is one of my favourite films.

Do you have any body art? Where and why?

–         No, I am tempted but I know I would get bored with it so probably best not to.

Which super hero are you?

–         Oh dear that’s not fair asking a fan girl which Super Hero. I mean there’s the DC lot, some of them like Wonder Women and Batman are okay. Then there is the Marvel ones and that’s like a kid in a sweet shop, Iron Man, Hulk, Xmen, Woolverine,  Thor……mmmmm Thor. Sorry  I was erm drooling there. Lol.  Does Dr Who count as a super hero, if so I want to be a female regeneration of the Dr or a Time Lord?

Who in your life do you like to create for? What does your creativity mean to them?

–         I sometimes make something for Isobel and Connor, my children. I do have to check Isobel’s room every time I make a new Art Doll as she has a tendency to steal them.

image

Is there anything you haven’t tried yet that you would like to?

–         Machine embroidery.

Where would you go to on a weekend city break, if you had the choice?

–         Edinburgh

When was the last time you took a walk just for the sake of it? Why, and how was it?

–         Last month, meeting up with friends and their children at Tamar Lakes it was a lovely hot day followed by a cold drink in the café.

What thing about you is the least known?

–         I read books really quickly, I’ve been known to finish one in two days. I did read four books in a weekend on my kindle once but I must say two were novellas. 

image

Well I hope you’ve enjoyed reading about Vic, if you are interested in more please check out this link to her Etsy shop where you will find lots more lovely things!
https://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/CornishDragon?ref=hdr_shop_menu

 
To join in on Blogtoberfest and to view the other folk taking part follow the link below
Powered by Linky Tools
Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

Leave a comment