Skip to content
11/10/2014 / katnewman

The dark side, next installment

The journey into boro techniques continues.

I tried to blow a Christmas bauble or two. One is intact still, but its certainly not going on the tree! And the other I blew too thin so it disintegrated as soon as I touched it.

image

Baaaaad bauble!

I ordered some more glass to play with, and learned a valuable lesson in the process. When buying tube check out the width of the rim, or ‘walls’. I correctly ordered 10mm tubing, but with 4mm walls the hole in the centre is just 2mm thick and I have no idea what I’m supposed to do with it!! Can’t imagine me having enough puff to blow that out, but I will give it a go one day when the head isn’t quite so sore.

I also successfully managed to program a boro annealing cycle into the kiln controller, without the manual! Couldn’t find it, damn those gremlins. But it worked, nothing cracked or welded itself to the kiln shelf so yay for me.

 
To join in on Blogtoberfest and to view the other folk taking part follow the link below
Powered by Linky Tools
Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

Leave a Reply

