Skip to content
24/10/2014 / katnewman

Friends on Friday – Julia Hay

Its that time again! And today we have Julia Hay, of Pandanimal. Another craft butterfly, she makes the most stunning array of things, from beautiful felting to fabulous lampwork. Julia has a knack of making her glass beads look like beautiful organic stones, and sea glass.

image

You can see her shop here https://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/Pandanimal?page=2

You can also see more work on her Flickr album here https://www.flickr.com/photos/pandanimal/with/15142960769/

And her blog, here http://pandanimal.blogspot.co.uk/2014/10/painty-part-two.html

And then come back and read her interview which is right here 🙂

Tell me a bit about what you do. 

I make things. Mostly beads. 

Include your ‘inside’ age for us, actual age is just a number, as we know!

Sometimes I feel like a kid and sometimes I feel 100 years old. 

What drives your creativity? 

I like making things

What’s the last song that got stuck in your head? 

“Everything is awesome. Everything is cool when your part of a team”. Arrrrrrrrrrrrgggggggggggggggggg! 

Do you come from a creative family?

Yes. My Maternal Grandfather played the harmonica, the piano and painted in oils, His children and grandchildren all create in one way or another, music, photography, silver smithing and painting. My Paternal Grandmother made Honiton lace and knitted, had very green fingers and I inherited my love of jigsaw puzzles from her.  I believe I am the first to melt glass. 

Name up to 5 artistic influences in your life.

Geology, Archaeology, Biology. Hmmm, that’s a bit broad isn’t it? It’s true though. I also can’t help being drawn to all the little unregarded things that everyone else seems to walk by with out noticing. ( ‘Caus everything is awesome!……) 

Who are your favourite artists?

How much space do you have? Picasso, who seemed to notice things in a new light, I love his light drawings. Mark Dion, his digs and collections of artifacts. Dale Chihuly, Mad man and glass artist, need I say more? 

Who in your life do you like to create for? What does your creativity mean to them?

My husband is always very pleased to see me working at the things I love. He knows how happy I am when deeply immersed in making. I am making a painting for him, the biggest canvas I can fit through the door to the room he wants it in. He bought it and a supply of acrylic paint to paint it with. It’s still a work in progress, have yo any idea how scary it is to work on a large BLANK canvas?

Is there anything you haven’t tried yet that you would like to? 

So many things so little time

Where would you go to on a weekend city break, if you had the choice? 

I don’t tend towards the metropolitan life in general so if I had to spend a weekend in a city it would have to have some very good museums and galleries and some interesting places to eat out and a comfy hotel to spend the night in. That, I guess, could be any major city! Hmm, someplace near the sea so I can see an uncluttered horizon and not feel hemmed in. 

What thing about you is the least known? 

Least known about me? well…maybe it should stay that way! 

image

Thanks Julia for a lovely interview!

 
To join in on Blogtoberfest and to view the other folk taking part follow the link below
Powered by Linky Tools
Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

Leave a Reply

