Skip to content
05/01/2015 / katnewman

Happy New Year to you all!

Hope you all had a good christmas?

Mine was lovely, blissfully peaceful, lots of relaxing and time to just sit and create just for my own amusement.

Today is my official first day back at the torch. It was going to be last Friday but when I got out to the studio there was a bit of a disaster involving my sizzle pot which had cracked and leaked water all over the bench which is covered with an aluminium sheet. Needless to say there was a huge amount of rust and lingering water, and all the rods left on the desk were coated in orange goo. Most of them went in the bin, it took a good couple of hours to clean!

On the bright side,  I have a lovely clean bench with which to start the new year 🙂 With all the different glass systems I’m using these days this is definitely an advantage! Perhaps I will be able to keep it clean, perhaps pigs will fly!!
image

January is a ‘play’ month for me,  always. I take time out to teach myself a few new things so that my designs evolve. Doesn’t stop me going back ro the old favourites of course but I feel it’s essential to my creative path. It was January 2012 that I taught myself to make goddesses and murrini and those of you who follow me know how well that turned out!

So as I take in a big breath, welcome in the new year and new creative directions I invite you all to join me in trying something new this month. If you do, come and tell me about it I’d love to see!!

Leave a Reply

