Skip to content
08/01/2015 / katnewman

52 Things challenge

I’m taking part in this challenge, with my friends over at Craft Pimp Forum.

The idea is, that you specifically make one thing each week for the challenge, you can theme it to help with your focus and creativity. I’m actually going to do 2 things a week.

The first one will be for the forum, and my theme is cabochons. Ever since the very talented Pru McRae showed the nation how to set cabochons into kumihimo on Jewellery Maker TV I’ve been itching to try this. Unfortunately my bead kiln is very small and realistically I can only make one cab per work session. So that suits the one a week brief fabulously doesn’t it! You may remember Pru tested my lampwork end caps a while back and came up with some stunning designs. Perhaps I’ll send her a cab and we can all wait with baited breath to see what she does with it!

My second ‘thing’ a week is going to be a bead for Beads of Courage. You can find several posts in my blog that relates to this fabulous charity and what they do but in a nutshell, lampworkers make beads to send off to them, and they are given to kiddos with cancer at various stages of their treatment. It feels really good to be able to directly support those that the charity works for and what a great cause. There are lots of great tutorials out there for beads specifically for the boc kids and at the moment they’re going nuts for minions, so this week it’s minion beads! These cannot be made to sell as it would be against copyright law, so the kids would have something truly unique in their long lines of beads!

So here’s my week 1 offerings
First my cabochon
image

And then my minion – this is Dave 🙂
image

 

More next week!!

Leave a Reply

