Skip to content
10/01/2015 / katnewman

New kiln!

Very exciting news, there’s a new kiln on the block! πŸ˜€

My little bead cube, although incredibly reliable and an absolute trouper for 4 years straight,  is just not big enough for me anymore. Now that I’m doing Boro I want to do bigger sculptural pieces and the great thing about this kiln is that I can also go back to the fusing that I used to enjoy so much! Only small things, coasters, wall hangings, trinket dishes and the like but it means that the kiln can be on and fusing on days when I am not at the torch, so it will be paying for itself in no time. Well that’s the spiel I gave hubby πŸ˜‰ but its true of course, he’s not  that kind of hubby thank goodness.

So how much bigger can it be, you ask? Well, good question.  Much bigger,  is the answer!! I have seen these in person of course but never with a beadcube in the vicinity to compare.  Check this out. .

image

image

My gob was proper smacked at the difference! So excited. I gave it a test fire yesterday, different controller to the beadcube so took lots of concentration, but am very excited to get to work on Monday πŸ™‚

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Sue / Jan 13 2015 1:56 am

    Very nice kiln! You won’t regret it. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

